2009-10 CoE Graduate Student Achievements


Scholar Power Award

Jefferson Goblet Award
Best student research paper awarded at the 50th AIAA Structures/Structural Dynamics and Materials Conference

  • Siva Shankar Rudraraju, Aero

Roger M. Jones Poety Contest
Honorable Mention:

  • Adriana Blazeski, BME

2010 Rackham Outstanding GSI Award

  • Daniel Johnson, Mechanical Engineering

2010 CoE Distinguished Leadership Award
The Distinguished Leadership Award is presented to those who have demonstrated outstanding leadership through their contributions to the college and/or the community.

  • James Bucher, ChE
  • Megan DeFauw, IOE
  • Nate Derbinsky, CSE
  • Obiefune Ezekoye, MS&E
  • Paul Hou, EE
  • William Kaye, NERS
  • Efrain Hernandez-Rivera, NERS
  • Aftin Ross, BME
  • Mustafa Saadi, CEE
  • Jessica TerBush, MS&E

2010 CoE Distinguished Achievement Award
Recipients of the Distinguished Achievement Award are chosen by department and program faculty to recognize academic and personal excellence.

  • Amin Ansari, CSE
  • Xue Chen, ChE
  • Obiefune Ezekoye, MS&E
  • Erin Farber, Aero
  • Kai Feng, Macro
  • Thomas Ferris, IOE
  • Matthew Gomez, NERS
  • Chistopher Hart, NAME
  • Anna Mitsak, BME
  • Diane Peters, ME
  • Mustafa Saadi, CEE
  • David Shuman, EE:Sys
  • Eric Tkaczyk, EE
  • Yiqun Yu, AOSS

2010 CoE Marian Sarah Parker Prize
The Parker Prize is presented to an outstanding woman graduate student who has demonstrated academic excellence, leadership qualities and outstanding contributions to the University and/or community.

  • Jennifer Dolan, NERS

2010 Ivor K. McIvor Award
Presented to a graduate student in recognition of outstanding scholastic and research performance in Applied Mechanics.

  • Mark Pankow, ME
  • Zhigang Tian, NAME

2010 Harry B. Benford Award for Entrepreneurial Leadership

  • Robert Levine, ChE

2010 Tom S. Rice Tau Beta Pi Award

  • Yvan Boucher, NERS

Rackham Predoctoral Fellowship


  • Srijanani Bhaskar, Macro
  • Phillip Christopher, ChE
  • Jeremy Guest, CEE
  • Amir Haji Akbari Balou, ChE
  • Amy Hsiao, BME
  • Mojtaba Mehrara, CSE
  • Ashutosh Nayyar, EE: Sys
  • Scott Rudolph, EE
  • Paul Ullrich, AOSS
  • Meng Zhang, Applied Physics
  • Changgua Zhen, MS&E


  • Gregory Chen, EE
  • Adel Elsherbini, EE
  • Mohommad Fallahi Sichani, ChE

2010 MLK Spirit Awards
Each year the MLK Spirit Awards celebration honors North Campus students whose leadership and service has exemplified the spirit of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

CoE Graduate Award Winner:

  • Michael Alexander, ME

2009 National Science Foundation Fellowship Recipients
The Graduate Research Fellowship provides three years of support for graduate study leading to research-based master’s or doctoral degrees and is intended for students who are at the early stages of their graduate study. The Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) invests in graduate education for a cadre of diverse individuals who demonstrate their potential to successfully complete graduate degree programs in disciplines relevant to the mission of the National Science Foundation.

  • David Adams, CSE
  • Daniel Araya, Aero
  • Sherri Cook, EE
  • Franklin Dollar, AP
  • Luis Gomez, EE
  • Aimee Hubble, NERS
  • Jeffrey Katalenich, NERS
  • Robert Levine, ChE
  • Roberto Miguez, BME
  • Olupelumi Osoba, EE
  • Azarias Reda, CSE
  • Laura Spencer, AP
  • Elizabeth Stewart, ChE